Data at a glance
Totals for the 919 schools on the official lists of the Immigration Services Agency and MEXT.
- Tokyo259 schools
- Osaka104 schools
- Fukuoka52 schools
- Aichi50 schools
- Chiba47 schools
- Saitama46 schools
- Hyogo40 schools
- Kanagawa30 schools
- Kyoto23 schools
- Shizuoka22 schools
View as table
| Rank | Prefecture | Schools |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tokyo | 259 |
| 2 | Osaka | 104 |
| 3 | Fukuoka | 52 |
| 4 | Aichi | 50 |
| 5 | Chiba | 47 |
| 6 | Saitama | 46 |
| 7 | Hyogo | 40 |
| 8 | Kanagawa | 30 |
| 9 | Kyoto | 23 |
| 10 | Shizuoka | 22 |
Source: Immigration Services Agency of Japan (notified institutions) · As of: August 7, 2026
Source: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (accredited institutions) · As of: October 6, 2026
Source: Immigration Services Agency of Japan · Survey date: June 2026
- Notified institutions822 (89.4%)
- Accredited institutions96 (10.4%)
- Japanese course list only1 (0.1%)
View as table
| Type | Schools | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Notified institutions | 822 | 89.4% |
| Accredited institutions | 96 | 10.4% |
| Japanese course list only | 1 | 0.1% |
Source: Immigration Services Agency of Japan (notified institutions) · As of: August 7, 2026
Source: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (accredited institutions) · As of: October 6, 2026
Source: Immigration Services Agency of Japan · Survey date: June 2026
Schools on both the notified and accredited lists are counted as notified. “Japanese course list only” means schools that are not on the notified or accredited lists but are on the Japanese course list.
- Available62 (19.6%)
- Under consideration212 (66.9%)
- Other (not available or not stated)43 (13.6%)
View as table
| Status | Schools | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Available | 62 | 19.6% |
| Under consideration | 212 | 66.9% |
| Other (not available or not stated) | 43 | 13.6% |
Source: Immigration Services Agency of Japan · Survey date: June 2026